GeographyCurrent Affairs

When was the Andhra Pradesh state formed?

When was the Andhra Pradesh state formed?

The state of Andhra Pradesh was formed on October 1, 1953. It was established as a result of the States Reorganization Act, which was passed by the Indian Parliament to reorganize the boundaries of states based on linguistic and administrative factors. Prior to the formation of Andhra Pradesh, the region was part of the Madras Presidency under British rule. The state was initially created by merging the Telugu-speaking areas of the erstwhile Madras state with the Telugu-speaking areas of the princely state of Hyderabad. Later, on November 1, 1956, the Telangana region, which was part of the former Hyderabad state, was merged with Andhra Pradesh to form a single state.

The First Chief Minister of The Andhra Pradesh was Neelam Sanjiva Reddy in the period of 1 November 1956 to 11 January 1960.

The First Governor of The Andhra Pradesh was Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi in the period of 1 November 1956 to 1 August 1957 

Following years of discussions and deliberations, the States Reorganization Act of 1956 was enacted by the Indian Parliament. This act led to the merger of the Andhra State and the Telangana region, forming the present-day state of Andhra Pradesh on November 1, 1956.

It is important to note that in recent times, on June 2, 2014, the state of Andhra Pradesh underwent further bifurcation with the formation of a separate state called Telangana, comprising the ten districts of the Telangana region. This division was the result of a long-standing demand for statehood for Telangana, and it marked a significant development in the region’s political landscape.

Overall, the formation of Andhra Pradesh has been a dynamic and evolving process, driven by the aspirations and demands of its diverse population. The state continues to play a crucial role in India’s cultural, economic, and political fabric.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button